This cup was first played for in 1932 and is confined to Clubs with less than 18 holes. The format of the competition is 7 players representing each club, played off scratch, minimum h/cap 10.

2019 - Munster Final at Spanish Point Golf Club

Spanish Point win Munster Country Clubs

  • 11 AUGUST 2019

Niall Heeney from Spanish Point in action in the final.  Photo: Niall O'Shea

Spanish Point used experience and home advantage to retain the Munster Country Clubs Cup on their home course this afternoon.  Early wins from Niall Heaney and Cillian Duggan set the tone in their final against Castlegregory, and while the Kerry side fought on bravely, two more wins from Fergal Hehir and Micheál Hehir were enough to seal the win for the home side

Earlier in the semi-finals, Spanish Point beat Lismore while Castlegregory beat Berehaven.  First played for in 1932, the competition was originally known as the Inter-County Challenge Cup.  Limited to nine hole golf clubs, the format is singles matchplay with teams of seven golfers.  It’s Spanish Point’s sixth time winning the championship, and next year they will have a chance to emulate their three in a row from 2012-2014.

Click here for phtotos/gallery ?

Munster Country Clubs Final

Spanish Point 5.5-1.5 Castlegregory

Niall Heeney beat Steve Neillings 8&7

Fergal Hehir beat Tom Moriarty 1 hole, Cillian Duggan beat John Rowan 7&6, Micheál Hehir beat James O’Connell 5&4, Seamus McMahon halved with Robert Sheehy called in, Mervyn Hehir halved with Colin O’Sullivan called in, Kevin Hynes halved with Colm McLoughlin called in

Semi-Final Results

Castlegregory 4.5-2.5 Berehaven

Steve Neillings beat Chris Driscoll 2&1

Tom Moriarty halved with Keith Hegarthy called in

Tommy Higgins lost to Craig Murphy 2&1, James O’Connell beat David Kelly 2 up, Michael O’Connor lost to Diarmuid O’Neill 3&2, Colin O’Sullivan beat Joe O’Sullivan 5&4, Colm McLoughlin beat Dean Murphy 2&1

Spanish Point 5.5-1.5 Lismore

Cillian Duggan beat Paudie Prendergast 7&6, Micheál Hehir beat Martin Power 4&3, Michael O’Brien beat Eoin Bennett 5&4, Niall Heeney beat Tom Joe Daly 5&3, Fergal Hehir halved with Pat Morrissey called in, Mervin Hehir halved with Paddy O’Leary called in, Kevin Hynes halved with John Kenneally called in.


2018 - Munster Final at Lismore, Co Waterford

Press Release Clare Champion - Spanish Point Crowed Munster Champions
1st round: S-Point beat Doneraile (Cork) 5/2
2nd round: S-Point beat Templemore (Tipperary) 5/2
Finals held in Lismore, Waterford
Semi-Final: S-Point beat Dunmore (Cork) 4.5 to 2.5
Final: S-Point beat Berehaven (Cork) 4.5 to 2.5.
Panel of Players: John Meere, Ollie McNamara, Bernard Clarke, Micheal Hehir, Mervin Hehir,
Niall Heaney, Maurice Murphy, Fergal Hehir, Greg Davidson, Martin White
Team Managers: Noel Connellan / Martin Glenny

2018 Munster Country Clubs Final

Cork Golf News / Pictures from the final at Lismore Golf Club

2014 - Munster Final at Spanish Point, Co. Clare

1st round: S-Point beat Ballyheigue Castle (Kerry) 6/1
2nd round: S-Point beat Ardfert (Kerry) 4.5 to 2.5
Finals held in Spanish Point Golf Club
Semi-Final: S-Point beat Raffeen Creek (Cork) 4.5 to 2.5
Final: S-Point beat Dunmore (Cork) 5.5 to 1.5. 
Panel of Players: Aiden Sexton, Mervin Hehir, Micheal Hehir, Evan Talty, Kevin Hynes, Stephen Guilfoyle, Conor O’Loughlin,
Martin Dormer, Seamus McMahon, Fergal Hehir, Micheal Talty
Team Managers: Martin Glenny / Noel Connellan

2013 Munster Final at Raffeen Creek, Cork

Press Release 9th August Clare Champion - Spanish Point Savour another Munster Win
1st round: S-Point beat Lismore 5/2
2nd round: S-Point beat Templemore 4.5 to 2.5
Finals held in Raffeen Creek (Cork)
Semi-Final: S-Point beat Lisselan 5/2
Final: S-Point beat Ardfert (Kerry) 4.5 to 2.5 
Panel of Players: Ross Burke, Micheal Hehir,
Martin Dormer, Anthony Garrihy, Fergal Hehir, Mervin Hehir, Kevin Hynes, Stephen Guilfoyle, Seamus McMahon
Team Managers: Martin Glenny / Noel Connellan

2012 - Munster Final at Lismore, Co. Waterford

1st round:
 S-Point beat Templemore 4/3
2nd round: S-Point beat Lismore 4.5 to 2.5
Finals held in Lismore G.C Waterford
S-Final: S-Point beat Castlegregory (Kerry) 4/3
Final: S-Point beat Frankfield (Cork) 4/3
Panel of Players: Brian o Loughlin, Micheal Talty,
Micheal O'Brien, Brendan McCarthy, Kevin Hynes, Fergal Hehir, Mervin Hehir, Eric Murrihy, Micheal Hehir, Ross Burke
Team Managers: Martin Glenny / Noel Connellan

2001 - Munster Final at Lismore, Co. Waterford


On the 19th August 2001 at Lismore Golf Club Spanish Point won their 1st
cup and pennant winning the Munster County Clubs Cup (Town’s Cup). Spanish
Point although celebrating its centenary in 1996 and having produced two
international golfers, (PJ Leyden R.I.P and Gerry McGlennon) had never won a
Munster cup or pennant. Sunday’s success has changed all this with Spanish
point now holding the 2001 cup and pennant. Their path to this historic win
started with a bye in the 1st round. 

They then defeated Abbey Feale 4/3 in the 2nd roundwhich was
played in Listowel Golf Club. 

They defeated Clonlara 5.5 / 1.5 in the 3rd round which was played in Dromoland
Golf Club and then onto Lismore for the semi-finals and final. 

S-Final: S-Point point beat Ballybeggan Park
4.5/2.5, Glengarriff had earlier defeated Templemore. 

Final: S-Point defeated Glengarriff 4.5/2.5 amid
highly emotional scenes. 

Panel of Players: Seamus Cleary, Jim Finnerty,
David Fitzgerald, Michael Healy, Pat Keane, Ciaran Og MacMathuna, Aidan
Moloney, David Reidy, Brendan Sexton. 

Team Managers: Peter Hennessy and Gerry

In presenting the cup to Spanish point Captain Gerry O’Loughlin, Munster branch
Hon match and H/Cap secretary Mick Cashman congratulated both teams for their
outstanding sportsmanship and stated that golf was the winner on the day.

Club Captain Gerry O’Loughlin in accepting the cup thanked Lismore Golf Club
for the excellent condition of the course; he also thanked Mick Cashman, GUI
Munster Branch, all the players and caddies for their commitment for the
duration of the competition.

He also thanked and complemented all the opponents for their sportsmanship and
friendship displayed during the competition.

Book a Tee Time
Ready to book?

Our booking system will make it easy for you.
  • 2023-12-07
  • 2023-12-08
  • 2023-12-09
  • 2023-12-10
  • 2023-12-11
Need to know more weather details? Click here to see the weather for the next 5 days.